Why Ravenswood


  Add to Favourites
Ravenswood is a Uniting Church School. The School Council provides governance and guardianship for the effective management of the school and its future. It is appointed by, and ultimately responsible to, the Uniting Church in Australia (NSW Synod).

Council members bring expertise from teaching, business, law, technology, architecture, human resources, finance, the Church, and also their roles as parents and past students. They give generously of their time, knowledge and wisdom in support of the school and the Principal.

In consultation with the Principal, the School Council’s role is to:

  • establish, evaluate and uphold the mission, vision and philosophy of the school
  • develop policies and strategies consistent with these
  • protect and enhance the school’s financial viability, making provision for the resources necessary to implement the policies and strategies of the school



Mr Mark Webb, BEc, CPA

Deputy Chair 
Ms Suzanne Stanton, BA LLB (Hons) USyd

Ms Jolyn Karaolis AM, BA (Hons), MEd (Hons), BPsych (Hons), FACE

Treasurer and Chair Finance Committee
Professor Elizabeth Carson, BCom (Hons), MCom (Hons), PhD, FCA

Chair Governance and Nominations Committee
Mr Ian Leijer, BEc, CA

Chair Foundation
Mr Mark Steinert, BAppSc, GDipApp Fin&Inv (Sec Inst), FFin, AAP

ROGU Nominee
Mrs Anne Nielsen, BA, DipEd

Uniting Church Representative
Rev Anne Empson, BCom (UNSW), GDipTh (CSU), ATCL, CPA

Rev Michael Barnes, BA (Hons), BTh, MTh, Gordon Uniting Minister
Mr Guy Fowler, BEcon, CA
Mr Peter Roach, BComm, MBA, MLitt, CA, FAICD
Mr George Wahby, BBus, CPA, ACIS, GAICD, TGMP Harvard

Annual Report 2016 Annual Report 2016 (1986 KB)

2017-20 Strategic Plan 2017-20 Strategic Plan (6190 KB)