Junior School

Key Learning Areas

  Add to Favourites
An inquiry approach to learning is used throughout Junior School, with a Reggio Emilia inspired Kindergarten to Year 2.

The Reggio Emilia approach values each child as strong, capable and resilient; rich with wonder and knowledge. It recognises that every child brings with them a deep curiosity and potential, and that this curiosity drives their interest to understand their world and their place within it. It focuses on learning through experiencing, exploring and interacting.

Our goal is to develop students into independent, resilient learners who are capable of solving problems effectively and resolving conflict. Our focus is on developing strong foundations in literacy and numeracy, while nurturing the physical, emotional, intellectual and social growth of the individual.

The Key Learning Areas follow the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and offers a rigorous broad-based curriculum, which caters for the individual needs of each student.

The six Key Learning Areas are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Creative Arts and Practical Arts.

The core academic subjects of English (Literacy), Mathematics (Numeracy), Science, History and Geography (HSIE) are taught by the class teacher, assisted by the teacher’s aide and Learning Enrichment Department. Specialist teachers provide expertise in the areas of:

  • Music
  • Visual Arts
  • Technology
  • Speech - K–2
  • Languages: French - K-6 and Chinese (Mandarin) - Years 5–6
  • Religious Education
  • Technical and Applied Studies - Years 5–6.

Additional learning opportunities are also provided in:

  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Music Ensembles

Underpinning the curriculum is an explicit Thinking Skills program which teaches strategic analytical, critical and creative thinking skills.